<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Welshtroll &#187; Phishing</title>
	<atom:link href="http://welshtroll.co.uk/tag/phishing/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://welshtroll.co.uk</link>
	<description>Point, Click, Repeat</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Tue, 20 Dec 2011 21:42:18 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.3.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>Chrome worries</title>
		<link>http://welshtroll.co.uk/2008/09/04/chrome-worries/</link>
		<comments>http://welshtroll.co.uk/2008/09/04/chrome-worries/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 04 Sep 2008 10:33:44 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>welshtroll</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Software]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[browser]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[chrome]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Phishing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://welshtroll.co.uk/?p=152</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I, like many others, have]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> I, like many others, have been playing around with the Chrome browser for a couple of days now and I feel there is one element of the browser that needs to be addressed to avoid possible future issues.</p>
<p>For those that haven&#39;t used the browser yet, there is a feature in Chrome that allows you to add shortcuts to your Desktop/start menu/quick launch bar. It&#39;s a nice way to add links to applications and favourite websites into your operating system desktop.</p>
<p>It all sound rather good and looks great when you click these shortcuts it pops up a Chrome browser window and displays your stored favourite. The only problem is the window that appears is stripped of all interface tools including the URL &#8220;omni&#8221; bar.</p>
<p>Not a problem you may think, but considering that continual phishing attempts occur on a frequent basis, is this shortcut a path to dangerous destinations? <br />The Chrome browse will highlight the main website of a url when used in full mode, but this feature isn&#39;t even visable if opened from a shortcut, plus there appears to be no way to force it to appear.</p>
<p>Now the shortcuts that are added are effectively only application shortcuts that open a browser window:</p>
<p><strong>Example</strong>:<br />&#8220;chrome.exe&#8221; &#8211;app=http://www.mybank.com/</p>
<p>With increasingly more creative cyber-villains around at the moment, is there a chance that a nasty virus could alter this shortcut, pointing it at a lovely bank clone website?<br />Or even worse call home for a continually changing phishing website URL making them harder to track, block and blacklist.</p>
<p>To further add to the problem there is no indicator on these shortcut browser windows to show you are on a website that is encrypted!</p>
<p>The lack of a url (omni) bar and an encryption indicator means there is no way of telling if you are infact pointing at a real or fake website.</p>
<p>Hopefully these issues will be squashed as the Beta moves forward, but it&#39;s certainly one to ensure gets fixed. </p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://welshtroll.co.uk/2008/09/04/chrome-worries/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Gone Phishing</title>
		<link>http://welshtroll.co.uk/2007/11/06/gone-phishing/</link>
		<comments>http://welshtroll.co.uk/2007/11/06/gone-phishing/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 06 Nov 2007 18:54:44 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>welshtroll</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Email]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Phishing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://welshtroll.co.uk/?p=109</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I receive a number of]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> I receive a number of spam emails per day (around 7 – 10), thankfully SpamAssasin flags nearly all (96%) of these messages, so I rarely have to see them.  As I was expecting an email this morning I took a quick look at my Junk folder in Thunderbird, just to ensure that the email hadn&#39;t been marked as spam. There was no sign of it.  </p>
<p>I quickly scanned the messages sitting in that isolated folder to see what type of crap was being filtered on a daily basis. Any Phishing attempts that I receive, I tend to attach to an email to the <a href="http://www.antiphishing.org/" rel="external">Anti-Phishing working group</a>. But today I&#39;m honoured I find the worst crafted Phishing email that I have seen  in a long time.  <br />It read as follows:<br />
<blockquote>   [blockquote]Subject:  HSBC &#8211; WARNING<br />Date: 	Fri, 2 Nov 2007 13:20:35 -0400<br />From: 	HSBC<service@hsbc.co.uk></p>
<p>Dear valued Halifax® member:    Due to concerns, for the safety and integrity of the Halifax<br />account we have issued this warning message.       </p>
<p>It has come to our attention that your Halifax® account information needs to be<br />updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to<br />reduce the instance of fraud on our website. </p>
<p>If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.   </p>
<p>However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.<br />Please update your records on or before janvier 16, 2007.   </p>
<p>Once you have updated your account records your Halifax account service will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.   <br />To update your Halifax® records click on the following link:<br />http://www.halifax.co.uk/  <br />Thank You. Halifax® UPDATE TEAM[/blockquote]  </p>
</blockquote>
<p>First point, as any person of moderate intelligence can see, is the use of 1 company in the title and a different company in body of the message.</p>
<p>Secondly is the &#39;Dear valued Halifax member&#39;, firstly it would be customer and secondly since I&#39;m a great &#39;member&#39; how have they managed to forget my name? No attempt to butcher my email address for a name to use, very poor.</p>
<p>The hyperlink to update you records wasn&#39;t hidden or manipulated to appear like a correct address, nope, it just pointed at some page over at www.swindon-speedway.co.uk.</p>
<p>And in last place is the French word for January that&#39;s been so wonderfully added into the template. </p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://welshtroll.co.uk/2007/11/06/gone-phishing/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>3</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

